Rooibos (“Red Shrub” in Afrikaans) is a plant cultivated exclusively in South Africa in Cedarberg’s Moutains at 300km in the north of Capetown. This shrub has nothing in common with tea tree: its scientific name is “Aspalathus Linearis” and is from the same family than acacia; this plant doesn’t contain caffeine.

Harvest is done during summer time, which correspond to the three first months of the year in South Africa. Shrub’s twigs are cut on about 30cm and then cut in little pieces. They are then slightly wet and left in the open air in order to oxidize them between 8h and 24h. At that stage, the red orangey tint appears on Rooibos’ twigs. Finally, they are dried under the sun and they are then sterilized.

In 1904, a Russian, called Benjamin Ginsberg discovered Rooibos and recognized the potential of this unique “tea”. He started to trade it locally and internationally. Ginsberg became the first Rooibos’ exporter and his family still working on this market. However, Rooibos started to be known only in the 1930’s.

Today considered as the national beverage in South Africa, Rooibos was, 300 years ago, harvested and then fermented in order to create a fruity and sweet infusion by indigenous from mountains of Cape Town’s north.


Discover our four Rooibos: Capetown N.117, Vanille Bourbon N.116, Caramel N.114 and Peach Rooibos N.124. Four compositions with original flavors cultivated while respecting the savoir-faire of South Africans.